×

面漆

PPF 中的面漆是什么?

大家好,希望你们一切都好!

我们在网上看到了一些产品广告和文章,有几次分享的信息并没有完全完整地传递,导致汽车专业人士和最终客户对某些产品的功能产生误解。


我最近看到的一个话题是关于PPF,它是什么,它的用途,以及安装过程。在这篇写在著名体育杂志上的文章中,它宣传 PPF “快速自愈”,与“传统” PPF 相比,它是一种先进的技术,这让我想起了过去,就像 6 年前 STEK将一种名为“WS盾牌“,理论上它会是一个很棒的产品,但我们了解到它的主要特点也是它的弱点之一: 快速自我修复往往更容易受到污染


要了解原因,首先要了解 PPF 结构是什么样的。简单地说,传统的透明 PPF 由 3 层组成:粘合剂、TPU(热塑性聚氨酯)和面漆。

TPU 是这种组合物的主要材料,它绝对可以保护油漆,但 TPU 尽管具有抗紫外线能力,但如果没有保护层,它会暴露在恶劣的天气条件下。最新一代 PPF 的 TPU 受到涂层保护,我们简称为“面漆“.

面漆
它是一种在PPF生产过程中应用于TPU薄膜表面的具有抗紫外线、疏水和/或自再生特性的树脂。它的主要功能是保护 TPU 免受时间的影响。面漆的成分可能因 PPF 品牌和产品类型而异。

防止污染

Top Coating 是对抗污染和划痕的前线士兵之一,因此它也是该电影中自我修复功能如何发挥的决定因素。根据其分子的密度和面漆的化学成分,自愈功能将以不同的方式发挥作用。


具有高分子密度的面漆可以更灵活,并具有自愈效果,需要外部辅助,例如热风枪。这种类型的涂层,由于其分子密度高的特点,可能会使其变得困难,甚至可以防止水和污染残留物在分子之间渗透并造成污染。然而,通常这种薄膜几乎没有拉伸性,因此安装起来稍微困难一些。


具有低分子密度表面涂层的 TPU 通常更柔韧,并且具有良好的可见自愈效果,无需热风枪,很好地展示了该技术的工作原理,并且非常适合作为“超级自动固化薄膜”进行营销,但实际上,随着时间的推移,超级自动固化薄膜往往会受到很多污染。快速/超级自愈薄膜可能看起来很酷,但比高密度涂层薄膜更经常给您带来污染和泛黄问题。


世界上最好的将是理想的密度,以提供理想的自我修复效果,而不会让您对污染放松警惕。 STEK 开发了多种涂料,已被世界各地的许多品牌使用。凭借一项特殊的注册专利,DYNOshield* 系列采用了一种特殊类型的表面涂层,其使用方式与传统涂层不同。 STEK 没有在 TPU 上施加一层,而是使用了一种在 TPU 结构内使用灌注方法的技术,这确保了 DYNO 系列与当前竞争产品相比具有无与伦比的清晰度、亮度、柔韧性和抗污染性。

发现 STEK 的 DYNO 系列并成为 #STEKrevolution 的一部分

相关文章

×

The Top Coating

What is Top Coat in PPF?

Hello everyone, hope you are all doing alright !

We have seen some product advertisements, articles online here and there, and a couple of times the information shared is not exactly passed on in its entirety integrity, inducing automotive professionals and final clients to have misconception about some products’ features.


A topic I saw recently was about PPF, what it is, what it is for, and the installation process. In this article, written on a famous sports magazine, it was advertised the PPF “Fast self-healing”, as being an advanced technology compared to the “conventional” PPF, and that struck me to the past, like 6 years ago when STEK brought to the market a PPF called “WS Shield“, on paper it would be a great product but we learned that its main feature was also one of its weaknesses: Fast Self Healing tends to be more prone to Contamination


To understand why, it is important to first understand what PPF construction is like. Simply put, a conventional transparent PPF is composed of 3 layers: Adhesive, TPU (Thermoplastic Polyurethane) and Top Coat.

TPU is the main material of this composition, it is the one that definitely protects the paint, but TPU despite being UV resistant, without a protection layer it would be exposed to adverse weather conditions. The most recent generations of PPF have their TPU protected by a coating layer that we simply call it “Top Coating“.

The Top Coating
It is a resin with anti-UV, hydrophobic and/or self-regenerating characteristics that is applied to the surface of the TPU film during the PPF production process. Its main function is to protect the TPU against the actions of time. The composition of Top Coating may vary depending on the PPF brand and also the product type.

Defense against Contamination

Top Coating is one of the frontline soldiers in the fight against contamination and scratches, consequently it is also a determinant of how the self healing function will play out in that film. Depending on the density of its molecules and the chemical composition of the top coating, the self healing function will act in different ways.


A top coating with high molecular density can be more flexible and has a self-healing effect that requires external assistance such as a heat gun. This type of coating, due to its characteristic of high molecular density, may turn it difficult or even preventing water and pollution residues from penetrating between the molecules and causing contamination. However, generally this film has little stretchability, hence a slightly more difficult to install.


A TPU with low molecular density top coating generally tends to be more flexible and has a good visible self-healing effect without the need for a heat gun, great to show how the technology works and great for marketing as the “SUPER AUTO CURING FILM”, but in reality, SUPER AUTO CURING films tend to suffer a lot from contamination over time. Fast/Super Self Healing films may look cool but will give you contamination and yellowing problem much often than high density coated films.


The best of all worlds would be the ideal density to provide the ideal self-healing effect without letting your guard down on contamination. STEK has developed a variety of coatings that have been used by many brands around the world. And with a special registered patent, the DYNOshield* line is contemplated with a special type of top coating that is used in a different way than the conventional ones. Instead of a layer applied over the TPU, STEK uses a technology that uses an infusion method within the structures of the TPU, this guarantees the DYNO line a clarity, brightness, flexibility and resistance to contamination unmatched compared to current products of the competition.

Discover the DYNO line by STEK and be part of the #STEKrevolution

Related Articles

Window tint… what’s the point?

Window tints, window films, or energy control films—which is what we call them around the shop—are designed to control the amount of energy that is transmitted through your vehicle’s glass. Energy comes in the form of visible light, and the varying light wavelengths can have different damaging effects on the human body as well as your vehicle.